Lewis Hamilton will start the Belgian Formula One race on pole position ahead of current championship leader Sebastian Vettel in his Ferrari. The second row comprises Valtteri Bottas followed by Vettel’s team mate Kimi Raikkonen, who has just reconfirmed with Ferrari for another year.

The race will mark Hamilton’s 200th GP start and also sees him match Michael Schumacher’s record of 68 pole positions, also his sixth pole position this year. He brought this in with a blistering run that set a circuit lap record of 1min 42.553sec at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit.

Vettel managed to jump from 4th in Q2 to second in the dying moments of Q3 although he came in 0.242 seconds behind Hamilton.

The third row at the start will be populated by the Red Bulls of Max Verstappen and Australian Daniel Ricciardo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.