The Argentina GP turned out to be the most memorable one in recent history. British rider Cal Crutchlow on his LCR Honda ended up the unlikely winner, for his third ever MotoGP win, ahead of Zarco and Rins. But there was a whole different race being battled out by Marc Marquez who ended up 18th ahead of Valentino Rossi in 19th.

The race began with a rather awkward arrangement on the starting grid to accommodate all the riders who chose to switch tyres in the changeable conditions ahead of the race. Only Jack Miller had selected properly and he was given a solitary start position well ahead of the whole pack who had their places marked out from the rear of the grid, to avoid a mass pitlane start.

Then to add to the confusion, Marc Marquez managed to stall his bike as he got back after the warm up lap. He managed to push start the bike but was all over the grid and didn’t seem to hear the marshal asking him to do a pitlane start. Back in his slot, Marquez was hot in pursuit of Miller on lights out, while teammate Dani Pedrosa got taken out by a racing incident with Johann Zarco on a wet patch of track.

For some time it looked like Marquez would get away ahead, till he was forced to take his ride through penalty, bringing him back to 19th. In the meantime, Miller was under pressure from the other three riders – Zarco, Crutchlow and Alex Rins on his Suzuki Ecstar. The fight saw Rins grab the lead for a short while, only to have a barging Crutchlow take it back.

in the meantime Marc Marquez was putting out quickest laps in succession, moving up the field, although his over aggressiveness saw him tail-end Aleix Espargaro, for which he had to give up a position. Then he went on hammer and tongs up behind the two Yamahas of Rossi and Viñales, managing to shove Rossi on to the wet grass and knocking him off the bike. Rossi managed a restart but was way down the order by then.

The finish saw Crutchlow come in ahead of a charging Zarco with Rins seemingly happy to stay on third. Marquez finished fourth, having managed to leapfrog Viñales, but a 30 second penalty given to him for the Rossi incident effectively took him back to 18th, just ahead of an aggrieved Rossi.

The championship battle is well and truly on, with Crutchlow actually ahead at the moment. And the old Marquez – Rossi feud is back on the burner, with Rossi rebuffing Marquez’ attempt at an apology post race.

2018 MotoGP Riders

Bike NoNameTeam2018 season2017 season
4Andrea DoviziosoDucati46261
93Marc MarquezRepsol Honda45298
25Maverick ViñalesMovistar Yamaha41230
35Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda38112
5Johann ZarcoMonster Yamaha Tech338174
29Andrea IannoneSuzuki Ecstar3170
46Valentino RossiMovistar Yamaha29208
43Jack MillerAlma Pramac2682
53Tito RabatReale Avintia2235
9Danilo PetrucciAlma Pramac21124
26Dani PedrosaRepsol Honda18210
42Alex RinsSuzuki Ecstar1659
55Hafizh SyahrinMonster Yamaha Tech39 
44Pol EspargaroRed Bull KTM855
41Aleix EspargaroAprilia662
99Jorge LorenzoDucati6137
21Franco MorbidelliEG 0,0 Marc VDS6 
30Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda5 
45Scott ReddingAprilia464
19Alvaro BautistaAngel Nieto475
17Karel AbrahamAngel Nieto32
12Thomas LuthiEG 0,0 Marc VDS0 
38Bradley SmithRed Bull KTM029
10Xavier SimeonReale Avintia0 

2018 MotoGP Teams

Team2018 season2017 season
Movistar Yamaha70438
Repsol Honda63508
Monster Yamaha Tech347258
Suzuki Ecstar47130
Alma Pramac47188
LCR Honda43112
Reale Avintia2273
Red Bull KTM884
EG 0,0 Marc VDS6117
Angel Nieto5107

2018 MotoGP Races

Qatar18-MarAndrea DoviziosoMarc MarquezValentino Rossi
Argentina8-AprCal CrutchlowJohann ZarcoAlex Rins
United States22-AprMarc MarquezMaverick ViñalesAndrea Iannone
Spain (Jerez)6-May   
Spain (Catalunya)17-Jun   
Czech Republic5-Aug   
Spain (Aragon)23-Sep   
Spain (Valencia)18-Nov   


Leave a Reply