Home News Hamilton takes maiden Baku title on Bottas Blowout

Hamilton takes maiden Baku title on Bottas Blowout

Hamilton takes maiden Baku title on Bottas Blowout
Formel 1 - Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport, Großer Preis von Aserbaidschan 2018. Lewis Hamilton Formula One - Mercedes-AMG Petronas Motorsport, Azerbaijan GP 2018. Lewis Hamilton

The Azerbaijan Gran Prix turned out to be another interesting one despite the rather unusual start which saw Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel take the lead ahead of Merc’s Valtteri Bottas. As with other recent races, the two Red Bulls of Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo hung on in competitive positions behind the Red and Silver pairs out front.

The pile-up at the start saw Force India’s Ocon and William’s Sirotkin retiring, the former hitting the wall after banging into Raikkonen, while Sirotkin tangled with the other Force India. The two Renaults of Sainz and Hulkenberg steadily picked off the Red Bulls, until Hulkenberg crashed his car from a P5 position.

With the race looking like it would end in this procession, the two Red Bulls came in for a tyre change to the Ultra soft compound, with Ricciardo managing to lose his hard fought advantage over team mate Verstappen. This lead to a battle for position on the home straight with Verstappen fending off Ricciardo by weaving and trying to outbrake him on the corner. Ricciardo ran into the rear of the lead red Bull, effectively taking both cars out of the race and leading to the deployment of the safety car that all the other teams were looking out for – quick drops into the pitlane saw the leaders quickly take on fresh tyres and come out, although in the process Valtteri Bottas managed to pip Vettel for the lead position.

As if to add a sense of ludicrousness to the proceedings, Haas driver Romain Grosjean took his car into the side wall, while following the safety car in sixth. “I was warming up my tyres and bumped into a switch that I’d moved by two positions. When I touched the brakes, the brake balance was locked rearward – it just locked the rear wheels and I spun.”

This added debris on the track and brought out the recovery truck, which took the safety car line-up into the closing stages of the race.

Once the green signal came out with only four laps to go, Vettel tried a bold dive the inside, but his subsequent lock up saw both Hamilton and Raikkonen shoot ahead of him. It looked like the race would end with Bottas and Hamilton taking a double, but as luck would have it Bottas ran over some of the debris on the track causing his right rear tyre to blowout. And Force India’s Perez managed to overtake Vettel’s Ferrari, bringing the podium position and making Perez the most successful Mexican driver ever. The race ended with Hamilton, Raikkonen and Perez on the top three, followed by Vettel, Sainz and first time points winner Charles Leclerc in his Sauber.

Post-race Hamilton said, “I have very mixed emotions today. Valtteri deserved to win, he did an exceptional job and had a faultless drive. This is such a crazy and exciting race and I never gave up. I was constantly pushing but it was a real struggle. I feel incredibly grateful to come out with the win. You have to take the ups with the downs and I can’t complain that I won; I will take it and hopefully learn from today. But Valtteri was very, very unfortunate, a one-two would have been a great result for the team. I would not have got by him in the remaining laps if he hadn’t had his tyre blow. It looks like Ferrari still has the better car, they outperformed us most of the weekend. We were able to just hold on to them during the race. We definitely have some work to do, but we are in the mix and it’s going to be very close. We have to keep our heads down and keep working.”

2018 Formula 1 Drivers

Car NoNameTeam2018 season2017 season
44Lewis HamiltonMercedes358363
5Sebastian VettelFerrari294317
7Kimi RäikkönenFerrari236205
77Valtteri BottasMercedes227305
33Max VerstappenRed Bull Racing216168
3Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing146200
27Nico HulkenbergRenault6943
11Sergio PerezForce India57100
20Kevin MagnussenHaas5319
14Fernando AlonsoMcLaren5017
31Esteban OconForce India4987
55Carlos SainzRenault4554
8Romain GrosjeanHaas3128
10Pierre GaslyToro Rosso290
16Charles LeclercSauber27 
2Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1213
9Marcus EricssonSauber90
18Lance StrollWilliams640
28Brendan HartleyToro Rosso40
35Sergey SirotkinWilliams1 

2018 Formula 1 Teams

Team2018 season2017 season
Red Bull Racing362368
Haas Ferrari8447
McLaren Renault6230
Force India Mercedes47187
Sauber Ferrari365
Toro Rosso Honda3353
Williams Mercedes783
2018 Formula 1 Teams

2018 Formula 1 Races

Mexico28/10/2018Max VerstappenSebastian Vettel  Kimi Raikkonen
United States21/10/2018Kimi RaikkonenMax VerstappenLewis Hamilton
Japan07/10/2018Lewis HamiltonValtteri Bottas Max Verstappen
Russia20/09/2018Lewis HamiltonValtteri Bottas Sebastian Vettel 
Singapore16/09/2018Lewis HamiltonMax VerstappenSebastian Vettel
Italy02/09/2018Lewis HamiltonKimi RaikkonenValtteri Bottas
Belgium26/08/2018Sebastian VettelLewis HamiltonMax Verstappen
Hungary29/07/2018Lewis HamiltonSebastian VettelKimi Raikkonen
Germany22/07/2018Lewis HamiltonValtteri BottasKimi Raikkonen
Britain08/07/2018Sebastian VettelLewis HamiltonKimi Raikkonen
Austria01/07/2018Max VerstappenKimi RaikkonenSebastian Vettel
France24/06/2018Lewis HamiltonMax VerstappenKimi Raikkonen
Canada10/06/2018Sebastian VettelValtteri BottasMax Verstappen
Monaco27/05/2018Daniel RicciardoSebastian VettelLewis Hamilton
Spain13/05/2018Lewis HamiltonValtteri BottasMax Verstappen
Azerbaijan29/04/2018Lewis HamiltonKimi RaikkonenSergio Perez
China15/04/2018Daniel RicciardoValtteri BottasKimi Raikkonen
Bahrain04/04/2018Sebastian VettelValtteri BottasLewis Hamilton
Australia25/03/2018Sebastian VettelLewis HamiltonKimi Raikkonen
Abu Dhabi25/11/2018   

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.